Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 01-10-2018, 02:15 PM

Default Slide mounted red dot for a CZ Shadow 2

Howdy,

I am thinking I would like to try IPSC's new "production optics division". I started shooting production last year but only shot 2 matches. I am not that competitive and shoot because I enjoy it. My eyes are not what they were and I was thinking it may be more enjoyable.

I am considering the following:
-Leupold DeltaPoint Pro Reflex 2.5 ($529 @ bullseye london)
-C-MORE STS2 ($499 @ freedom ventures)
-Vortex Venom ($360 @ cabelas / $286 @ amazon.ca)

Does anyone have an opinion on any of these or other slide mounted red dots up to about $500.00 range? Specifically, how they would hold up to being mounted on the slide?

Production optics rules say that the optic must be mounted to the factory dovetail so frame mounting is not an option.

Thanks
Old 01-10-2018, 04:17 PM

I have a Vortex Venom purchased from Amazon, can't beat that price, mounted on a shadow 2, I went with a Springer Precision mount (they ship to Canada) and was cheaper than a CZ custom, Tenda & Select Shooting supplies were out of stock of the CZ mount so it wasn't an option, I be leive the shadow 2 cut is specific to the shadows so make sure you order the correct one, iirc the vortex, Burris fastfire and another use the same mounting pattern, a quick Google search will show you which ones are the same, i have atleast 500 rounds with mine and no issues, holds zero, my daughter has a burris fastfire 3 on a Beretta clone with more rounds than mine with no issues, both seem to be great I personally like the wider glass on the vortex, ymmv, I did have to use a couple shims that I made from a pop can with my Springer Precision mount as it slid in without much resistance but has not moved yet and I don't think it will in the future. Hope this helps.
Old 01-11-2018, 07:48 AM

Sureshot, that helps a lot! Great info, thanks!!
Old 01-11-2018, 08:23 AM