Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 10-09-2013, 07:43 PM
Banned

Default Challenging the Resident License Test?

I've got access to about 10 quarters around here and I was thinking that trapping a few yotes would be a good pastime this winter. I checked out the regs and the info at the Alberta Trapper's Association website and see that I can pick up a copy of the current Alberta Trappers Manual, which is available from the Association for approximately $40 (price subject to change).

I have no experience with trapping other than setting snares for rabbits so I'm as green as they come. What I was wondering is, if a fella of average intelligence but no experience was to put in the study time, how hard would the F&W multiple question test be?

Trapping yotes would just be a pastime for me so I'd like to keep the cost of getting started up to a minimum. Thanks.
Old 10-09-2013, 08:40 PM

Test isn't hard. I challenged mine last winter and passed just fine. Never trapping before and I got 3 foxes and 6 coyotes just power snaring and one leg trap at one bait pile. Between YouTube and trapper forums it's easy to learn the basics. I already have my first coyote down in a dirt hole set this season.

I recommend starting with snaring. Don't have to check them everyday and they are cheap.
Old 10-09-2013, 10:15 PM
Banned

Thanks Phil. I'm going to go the route of self study and challenging the test. I was thinking about buying/using snares for yotes as well. What were you using for bait? I was thinking about saving some of the guts from my deer/moose this year and freezing it. What other cheap bait would you recommend?
Old 10-09-2013, 11:16 PM

Butcher shop scraps and road kills. Any kind of food from the kitchen will work. Even if it isn't something a coyote will eat, it will attract crows and magpies, which will in turn make the yotes curious and check out the bail pile
Old 10-15-2013, 06:46 AM