Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 12-26-2010, 02:52 PM

Default Where and how can I hammer some perch?

I've never had any luck targeting perch but I wanna eat some this winter. Anybody got some tips for catching them? Where on the lake should I be looking to set up and what sort of depth should I be fishing at? What's best for bait?

Around the Edmonton area, where's going to be a good place to go? A buddy of mine said his friend got skunked at Hasse this month and I went out there this summer and only caught a couple of those famous micro perch.

I'm not very experienced at filleting so while it's fun to catch pike and walleye its not so fun eating bony hacked up tiny fillets. This video has had me excited to catch some perch to try out this method of cleaning. Anyone ever done anything similar?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pjTlFwQb7D0

Last edited by ssyd; 12-26-2010 at 03:00 PM.
Old 12-26-2010, 04:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssyd View Post
I've never had any luck targeting perch but I wanna eat some this winter. Anybody got some tips for catching them? Where on the lake should I be looking to set up and what sort of depth should I be fishing at? What's best for bait?

Around the Edmonton area, where's going to be a good place to go? A buddy of mine said his friend got skunked at Hasse this month and I went out there this summer and only caught a couple of those famous micro perch.

I'm not very experienced at filleting so while it's fun to catch pike and walleye its not so fun eating bony hacked up tiny fillets. This video has had me excited to catch some perch to try out this method of cleaning. Anyone ever done anything similar?
Thunder Lake by Barrhead.
Old 12-26-2010, 05:37 PM