Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 01-02-2014, 07:08 PM

Default z71 Small Engine Help

Hey guys, I was out fishing this week , I took a pull on the starter of my Z71 Eskimo , The knot at the end of the handle had some undone and has now zipped back into the pull start

Anybody know if I can un screw the 4 bolts and re wind it and pull the string back out ?

Or am I better off taking it to a small engine repair shop and get charged to pull the string back out ?

The string never broke, it just came out of the handle and zipped back into the housing

Thanks in advance !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-1cB...ature=youtu.be
Old 01-02-2014, 07:12 PM

Might find YouTube vid or owners manual?
Old 01-02-2014, 07:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by muskokagould View Post
Might find YouTube vid or owners manual?
Im pretty sure I have the manual , however , Im not a mechanic,, but I do feel with a little bit of a confidence boost from others that may have the same issue , and could shed some light on what they did ! I could tackle this !

Old 01-02-2014, 07:18 PM

I would try to use a couple of flat screwdrivers to spin the rotator outward. Maybe some needle nose pliers to finally reach in and grab the rope, or some tweezers.its a slow process, but less to go wrong and less to lose.

Either get busy living, or get busy dying!
Old 01-02-2014, 07:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dacotensis View Post
I would try to use a couple of flat screwdrivers to spin the rotator outward. Maybe some needle nose pliers to finally reach in and grab the rope, or some tweezers.its a slow process, but less to go wrong and less to lose.
I tried pliers, but I can not find anything narrow enough to fit, I tried a long treble I straightened out and tried hooking it onto the barb, But with no luck,

Again thanks for the quick responses , Its greatly appreciated !

Old 01-02-2014, 07:21 PM