Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 06-12-2013, 09:13 PM

Default Tapered Leader

Do I really need tapered leaders? How much will a non tapered affect my newbie casting?
All I've ever used is tapered.
Old 06-12-2013, 09:16 PM

its like driving a pinto compared to corvette, the difference is night and day, your catch results will also be alot higher with a tapered leader, learn how to tie on tippet and your leaders well last a long time
Old 06-12-2013, 09:26 PM

I believe tapered is pretty important for casting dries since it turns over better when casting and makes it land nice. I like the already made tapered leaders you can get for dries. For nymphing and streamers I just use straight mono maxima leader material (6lb to 8lb for trout) and tie the flies directly to that (6-12 ft depending one what I'm fishing with). To be honest I don't bother with tippet but I'm no expert. I still catch fish haha! I can see why tippet is good so you aren't cutting into your leader I just haven't really tried it.
Old 06-12-2013, 09:53 PM

I've used tippets since day one, saves on shortening the tapered leader.
And thanks for the tips, I'll stick with tapered.
Old 06-12-2013, 10:14 PM

try a furled leader and you'll wonder what the hell just happened
Old 06-12-2013, 10:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taco View Post
try a furled leader and you'll wonder what the hell just happened
I made some, cast like a dream but easier for the fish to see. Mono one's create lots of facet's to reflect light and thread one's, which cast the best, are easily seen. Maybe I didn't use a long enough tippet, or the fish are easily spooked?

Thomas Sowell
Old 06-12-2013, 10:44 PM

I've never used a knotless tapered leader in 40 years. I'm thinking it might not be necessary.
Dry flies
3ft of 20lb, 3ft of 12lb, 3+ft of 6lb mono. Go catch fish

Nymphing:
8ft of 12-15lb mono, add some smaller stuff if you need to

Lake leader for indicator fishing: