Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 12-22-2017, 09:36 PM

Default Hunting Mentor

Hi everyone. I've read a couple post that are somewhat similar but wanted to put a feeler of my own out.

I'm new to hunting. Did not grow up with it and have no friends or family that participate. I'm looking to start with deer and upland birds/water fowel. Interested in both bow and rifle.

If there's anyone out there that may be intersted and showing a new fellow some of the skills needed to become a good outdoorsman. I.e. scouting, field dressing, firearm ans bow practice and maintenance etc.

I'm a little late to the party and am turning 40 this spring so I have alot to make up. Not in a rush but looking to pick up good habits early in my hunting career.

I'm doing alot of reading, listening, asking questions and watching videos but a real life teacher would be such a help.

My name is Roland and I'm in the Edmonton area.

Like I say, if anyone feels they have the time or willingness to share some of their knowledge and skills, I would be tremendously greatful

All the best
Old 12-22-2017, 11:17 PM

There is a looking for hunting partner thread sticky, try posting on that.
Old 12-22-2017, 11:59 PM

Just did. Thanks
Old 12-23-2017, 08:28 AM

Rol,I have 60 years of hunting experience on most rivers in Alberta. Also run a RFMA trapline, just had a herd of 35 elk on last trap check. If you practise good gun safety, willing to do your share of work, and pay your share of expenses,send me a PM and we can talk.
Old 12-23-2017, 10:03 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Grey Wolf View Post
Rol,I have 60 years of hunting experience on most rivers in Alberta. Also run a RFMA trapline, just had a herd of 35 elk on last trap check. If you practise good gun safety, willing to do your share of work, and pay your share of expenses,send me a PM and we can talk.
You best jump on this, ROL.