Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 09-01-2014, 10:15 AM

Default Goose Hunting Etiquette

I am new to hunting, and was gonna try some goose hunting. I found a pea field that was being harvested (I know that geese like the pea fields), and asked the owner for permission to hunt there. He said I was the third guy to ask. But he said that he wasn't giving anybody priority as to who could hunt. He said it was first come, first serve. How does this work, and what is the "right" thing to do here? The first guy to show up gets to hunt? Is it safe for more than one group to hunt the same quarter?
Old 09-01-2014, 10:25 AM

If you hit the field at the same time as another group, team ip,
If another group dhows up when you are already in, it doesn't hurt yo offer them a spot .
I know many would say " too bad so sad"
But the guys I hunt with are not that way , we try to help out and accommodate wherever can .
Cat
Old 09-01-2014, 10:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishcommander View Post
I am new to hunting, and was gonna try some goose hunting. I found a pea field that was being harvested (I know that geese like the pea fields), and asked the owner for permission to hunt there. He said I was the third guy to ask. But he said that he wasn't giving anybody priority as to who could hunt. He said it was first come, first serve. How does this work, and what is the "right" thing to do here? The first guy to show up gets to hunt? Is it safe for more than one group to hunt the same quarter?
If I'm the first guy in there I always offer the 2nd guy/group a chance to set up with me and we can all enjoy the morning most times they will move on
Old 09-01-2014, 10:59 AM

If had that similar thing happen before, or at least that's what I was told..."somebody beat me to it"