Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 03-23-2013, 09:26 AM

Default Upper Arrow Lake BC

Hello everyone, I am new to this and would like some of your opinions. I am heading out to Upper Arrow Lake in less then 3 weeks for big gerrards and bull trout. This will be my first time out there. My boat is completely set up with downriggers, planer boards, separate trolling motors etc. I usually fish lake trout here at mostly Spray and Lake Minniwanka. My question is does anyone know the best trolling speeds for that lake and what type of lures should I be using and was size line etc. I have picked up an assortment of flashers, plugs, apex lures and bucktail flies as was recommended by friends who fish this lake regularly. I would really appreciate any feed back on anything to do with that lake Thanks so much
Old 03-23-2013, 10:48 AM

You are going to get lot's of good info on here from a few of us who spend some time our in BC - most of us over at Kootenay (which I'm assuming will be similar to Arrow). There are some great threads you should research - I would search under "Gerhard" or "Kootenay".

Trolling speed will be slightly faster compared to Lakers - I like starting in the mid to high 2 mph ranges ( 2.4 to 2.8 mph) and adjust slowly up from there. Often you will end up ranging high 2's to low/mid 3's.

Trolling with a Flasher/Hoochie or Flasher/Lyman or Flasher/Apex is common.

Dragging a rabbit hair fly at or near the surface when it's a little choppy is also very productive - this will be done at speeds of roughly 4 mph.

Lot's of good info on this forum ..... do a quick search any you will be rewarded.
Old 03-23-2013, 01:49 PM

Perfect advice form EZM, I would add some Bucktails to the mix.

My blog - casting on the waters

fishing regulations and facts on fish handling
Fishing Regulations
Old 03-23-2013, 01:56 PM

I'm looking at heading there eventually as well. Thanks for the info.
Old 03-23-2013, 05:40 PM