Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 07-20-2018, 02:13 PM

Default Waterfowl Ammo Help for a newbie

Hello,

I started waterfowl hunting last year and I am looking for some insight into what ammo to use.

Last season I was using Winchester 12-Gauge #2 Steel Shells which was good early in the season, but later didn't seem to take down Canadas well.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 07-20-2018, 02:44 PM

BB and 1550 fps or faster either in 3" or 3.5" brands aren't a deal breaker.
Old 07-20-2018, 02:58 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingrat View Post
BB and 1550 fps or faster either in 3" or 3.5" brands aren't a deal breaker.
I agree I had been using 3" BB Kent for a few years and it worked well but a couple years ago I switched to SCORE (cheaper) and it works just as well in my Maxus with IC choke. 3" BB,1 or 2 seem to be the overall favorites with the BB definitely the most popular for geese.
Old 07-20-2018, 03:15 PM

3" Kent Fasteel, #2 works fine for late season honkers. If #2 won't kill them, they are too far, or you aren't placing the pattern properly. Many people don't lead enough, and don't get pellets into the head/neck area.
Old 07-20-2018, 03:17 PM

At what range(s) were you engaging the birds?
The fact is that I have seen way to many birds being engaged in the 50-70 yard range with reduced results. This is regardless of extended "long range chokes" or shot size or length of the cartridge. The closer you engage your percentage of kills will go up....... get the birds as close as possible. I use a 2 3/4 inch steel BB or #2 shot and I will not engage if I feel the birds are to far away.
This is just my 2 cents.
Old 07-20-2018, 03:23 PM
Gone Hunting

Geese are at the correct distance to shoot when you see their landing gear come down.....
Old 07-20-2018, 03:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobalong View Post