Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 05-27-2018, 04:00 PM

Default Funky tasting deer jerky

Wondering everyones thoughts on my first ever batch of deer jerky... I shot my first buck (whitetail) on closing day last November. It wasn't an ideal shot, and it was partially a gut shot. I have very little experience around game, but while I was dressing it with a buddy I noticed a bit of a smell. I'm not sure if the smell is because the buck was rutting, because of the gut shot, or that's just normal, but it did smell 'off'. Fast forward to making the deer jerky, and it tastes like it smelled when I skinned it. FWIW I used High Mountain 'Cajun' cure & seasoning and did it in a dehydrator.

I've had a fair bit of deer jerky, and never noticed this taste to it. Like I said, do you guys figure it was just a rutting buck, or possibly the gut shot, or are dehydrators no good for deer jerky??
Old 05-27-2018, 04:16 PM

Near impossible to say without smelling it ourselves or seeing it handled. It could be either, but comes down to how you handled the meat if it was gut shot, and if you kept any meat that had any stomach contents on it, etc. There is a distinct difference in 'rut/gamey' flavour and gut shot tainted meat, but that may be tough to distinguish as a first timer. Bring it to an experienced friend and ask them what they think would be a start.

Sorry cant offer a ton of help as most will be just guessing I'd imagine.
Old 05-27-2018, 04:18 PM

Default deer jerky

If it smells like "swamp" it is likely the gut shot effect. I have used the High mountain cures, they work well(a little salty)
Gut shot and run a distance and the meat will likely have an off smell and taste.
Old 05-27-2018, 04:24 PM

I understand smell is hard to convey over the internet