Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-03-2016, 10:16 AM

Default uv lenthomson spoons

Hello all, I bought a couple of the uv red 5 o diamonds and took them up north to go lake trout fishing last spring. They seemed to out fish the regular spoons by quite a bit. Just curious if anyone else has used them and what they think of them.

cheers
Goose
Old 05-03-2016, 10:51 AM

Let me premise this by saying that I'm not an expert - but did some reading on this a while back - here's how I understand it (for the sake of discussion and interest).

There is no "regulation" or "minimum standard" that manufacturers need to meet in order to label their products UV. Almost everything out there, particularly those with fluorescence, will refract some UV radiation in one form or another.

It is thought that fish do have the same 3 sets of receptors common to mammals, birds and insects that allow them to see certain UV radiation (light). Keep in mind at what wave length (or frequency) they do and don't see is what only experimentation (and studies) can tell us.

That's why there is ZERO reaction when you shine a UV light (like off your underwater camera) right in front of the fish's eyes in the dark under the ice. No reaction whatsoever.

On the flip side - it has been proven trout and salmon will react to, and strike UV lures in deeper water where there is lower light levels with a significantly greater frequency .... and they do it consistently.

Obviously they are emitting 2 different ranges (or frequency).

So - in theory - a "UV lure" should work if it has the right properties AND is something the fish are in the mood to take.

I'm also thinking that there might be days where a "super bright shining beacon" like a UV lure may detract (reduce) a fish's willingness to take that lure if the fish is in a skittish or negative mood.
Old 05-03-2016, 02:03 PM