Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 07-26-2017, 10:28 AM

Red face Need RV assistance

I am new to the RV life so bear with me please. :-)
I have a older (1995) 28ft 5th wheel, and the water in the holding tank after the drive out to the campsite has a sewage smell to it??? It wasn't like this the first time out this year, and I only filled my tank about 1/2-3/4 full, but the last few times we went I filled it right up, and when we got there and the wife ran some dog water it smelled awful.
Any suggestions as to how I can get rid of this issue? I was going to dump some bleach into the tank and fill it up and let it sit, and then rinse it several tomes, but if this is a common issue that people have I would like to know what the solution normally used is!

Thanks all

D
Old 07-26-2017, 10:37 AM

You might have had some old water sit in the tank for a while and it got musty.

I would try the bleach and rinse routine. Keep in mind you'll need to flush it out A LOT after the treatment. There are some commercial products you could try at most RV stores too.
Old 07-26-2017, 10:49 AM

Bleach is a common go to. Not to strong. Run it through the lines. It's a good a good practice yearly. Or sometimes a guy is forced into filling from a water source with a "boil advisory". I sanitize after that if it happens.

Couple good flushes and then flush the lines. All will be good.

We still typically don't drink the water straight up from our taps. But will cook with it. Maybe make coffee. Other than that bottled water.

I would also attempt filling it with your bleach solution and then go for a little boot. Should ensure every inch of the tank is sanatized.
Old 07-26-2017, 11:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobNewton View Post
We still typically don't drink the water straight up from our taps. But will cook with it. Maybe make coffee. Other than that bottled water.
I do this as well.
Old 07-26-2017, 11:19 AM