Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 11-28-2008, 11:30 PM

Default how many rounds??

im pretty new at this, im looking at buying a rifle, not sure if i can afford new yet or not, im looking for a used 243 heavy barrel with a woodstock, im just wondering how many rounds can a rifle fire before it starts to get scary and not worth the money?? also looking for pointers on what to look for what buying a used gun, what kind of questions to ask etc etc... and what should the price range be if its used i dont really want to get ripped off
Old 11-29-2008, 12:14 AM

Smile

Take the rifle to the range and see what size of a group is shooting, if it looks like shotgun pattern don't buy it.
If the rifle was used for hunting and not much target shooting a rifle will out live you.Very few hunters will wear out a barrel.

Q.How many rounds can a rifle fire before it starts to get scary and not worth the money?? A.Depends on a caliber i.e .222rem 5000 or so rounds, some hot magnums as low as 1000 or less rounds.

If it is bolt action and you wear out a barrel re-barrel it .

Buy cheap cry every day .

Old 11-29-2008, 12:19 AM

wow, i didnt think you could get 5000 rounds out of a gun, all of my grandfathers rifles only have about 10 or less rounds out of them each except his .22's
Old 11-29-2008, 12:25 AM

Default Rifle

Flat

What do you want to use the rifle for?
Heavy barrel rifles aren't real useful as hunting rifles, so if your goal is to go to the range and target shoot, it would be a good gun for that.
If you want a hunting rifle, go look at a Stevens 200. They come in all the popular calibers from 223 right up to 300 Win mag. They are all great shooters and a real bargain ,always less than $400.00. FS
Old 11-29-2008, 12:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Faststeel View Post
Flat

What do you want to use the rifle for?