Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 09-03-2013, 11:01 PM

Default Anyone ever try these Swhackers?

I ordered some of these, and have them, but upon closer inspection, it seems to me that although they may create a good exit wound, in the event of a non-pass-through, all you'd be left with would be a tiny entry wound, as the blades do not open until after entry. Anyone ever tried these?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Swhacker Broadheads.jpg (48.9 KB, 109 views)
Old 09-03-2013, 11:23 PM

Wifes uncle got a bull elk with those last year, dropped in 50 yards. Did its job i guess, but i have no personal experience with them.
Old 09-04-2013, 05:55 AM

Yep have been using them and love them.
Old 09-04-2013, 06:39 AM

These were first known as "Sonoran" broad heads and have actually been around a long time.

They are ok but I have a thought after a discussion with a buddy that a three blade broad head makes a better bleeding would than a two blade.

A three blade creates 3 flaps....where as a two blade creates a slit....easier for a slit to become plugged and stop blood flow than a hole with 3 flaps.

LC
Old 09-04-2013, 08:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefty-Canuck View Post
These were first known as "Sonoran" broad heads and have actually been around a long time.

They are ok but I have a thought after a discussion with a buddy that a three blade broad head makes a better bleeding would than a two blade.

A three blade creates 3 flaps....where as a two blade creates a slit....easier for a slit to become plugged and stop blood flow than a hole with 3 flaps.

LC
I have to agree....
I have the swackers and they are still new in pack.
this year I am using the shuttle T black ops and the steelforce phathead I am very happy with both of them.
I have swackers, rage hypodermics, NAP killzones but I keep going back to the fixed blade u owe it to the animal to be 99.99% sure that the blades are where they need to be upon taking the shot