Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 09-21-2012, 02:09 PM

Default Just looking for a elk

You know I have been shooting a bow since I was 6 years old and I always thought us bow hunters stick together, I have reached out a few times for some help trying to take my first elk, Now im not even looking for a monster bull just one to fill the freezer. but it seems most want to hoard their knowledge.

I have been asking around about the MDU 410 and most of the feed back has been negative, but I know there is a bunch of elk out this way, is there anyone out their that would like to teach an old boy some new tricks to take a elk.

Any knowledge would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Old 09-21-2012, 02:36 PM

There are no big secrets here,get out and put in the time do your scouting and hunt them the same way you would anything else.Expecting someone else to do all the hard work for you so you can walk in and just do the shooting is not likely to happen.
Old 09-21-2012, 02:59 PM

I can appreciate the OP's frustration. If you don't even have a clue where to start the vastness of a territory makes it seem hopeless. However, don't expect some one to tell you exactly where a herd is hanging out.

When I first started I was very thankful to those that shared information and I always made it a point never to mess up their hunting by asking them first I it was alright to hunt even if it was crown land. Over the years I expanded by scouting my own areas and developing my own spots but the original info was crucial as it provided me something to work from.

If the OP had at least something he could begin his own scouting.But as for some one saying go three miles down this trail and set up on a hill by the willow bluff because there is a herd that beds down there at 11:30 in the morning. I don't think that is going to happen.
Old 09-21-2012, 03:27 PM