Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 12-06-2012, 08:33 AM

Default Baiting In Alberta

I am fairly new to reading all these threads, so I am sure that this topic has been discussed before.

I am wondering what everyone's thoughts/comments are if Alberta legalized baiting deer?

I am not saying that I want this to happen or that I would agree with it, just wanted to know where everyone else stands on this topic.
Old 12-06-2012, 08:35 AM
sheephunter

Unfortunately, it seems to be an all too common pratice in Alberta already but as for legalizing, with all the CWD issues we have, I can't see it being a good idea.
Old 12-06-2012, 08:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheephunter View Post
Unfortunately, it seems to be an all too common pratice in Alberta already but as for legalizing, with all the CWD issues we have, I can't see it being a good idea.
Not to open a can of worms here, but baiting has not been proven to contribute to the issues of CWD. Look at the numbers from Sask vs. Alberta in documented cases of CWD, there certainly is not an "trend" that would indicate what most have assumed.
Old 12-06-2012, 08:51 AM

Quote:
I don't believe for a second, that cwd has anything to do with why hunting over bait is illegal. If esrd, was that concerned about it, they wouldn't allow baiting for pictures.

We need clarification, and some re wording in our regulations. We need to prohibit baiting for ungulates, period. We need to prohibit the sale of baits and attractants in stores.

Depending on what's used, and where. Some grains could be an agricultural disaster, with invasive species being introduced and unregulated.
Old 12-06-2012, 08:56 AM

im no biologist and never played one on TV but, i think that introducing a bait station, either to be hunted over or as a novelty (for trailcams or simply veiwing) cannot be good for the animal.