Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 01-05-2013, 06:39 PM

Default beyond frustrated

I've been looking in on the forums for a while now trying to get some good information to get me pointed in the right direction. Not only am I relatively new to Alberta, I'm also brand new to ice fishing. So I'm starting from zero both in terms of where to go and what the heck to do once I get there. I've had stacks of questions that I would love to ask, but every now and again I see someone like me asking the same questions that I'd like the answer to but the responses they get can range from elusive to down right ignorant. While I understand that the whole "lake x" routine is you protecting your favorite spot but for God's sake, how the hell does someone new to town get started?
I've asked the staff at all the fishing stores and picked up a few names of lakes from here but today I was at Chickakoo and drilled dozens of holes from one end to the other and back again. I used 5 different baits at all different depths with a dozen different lure/jig combinations. Not an effin' nibble....
Are there just no good lakes in the Edmonton area? I've tried at least 10 different lakes and the results are iffy at best. Could someone please at least give me an estimated drive time to Lake X? I'd really like to find it.
Anyhow, that's just my rant. Feel free to impart some wisdom if you have some. Thanks.
Old 01-05-2013, 06:44 PM
Banned

Use the fishing request/buddy thread at the top of the page and go fishin with a local or find the weednesday wing night thread, go meet some board members, shoot the chit and arrange a meet and greet on the ice,, from there you'll be set.
Old 01-05-2013, 06:45 PM

First need to know what you want to fish for....are you catching to keep? Or release?

You know that there are trout in Chickakoo right? How big we're the jigs you were using?

LC
Old 01-05-2013, 06:48 PM
Banned