Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 08-12-2010, 01:09 PM

Default newbie - lake fishing near Calgary?

Hi everyone!
I have been reading this forum for a while - seems like a friendly and helpful place!!
I am new to Calgary - moved here from the deep South. There are so many rules and regs to fishing here - I bought my license and WIN card, have my gear ready - even a small "FishHunter" inflatable boat with a hard bottom and a nice little motor.

SO.....what I need now is info from the savvy fishermen who hang out here!
I'd like to try lake fishing near Calgary - somewhere I can try out my new boat and maybe camp as well. Catch and release is ok, but I'd like to fry up a few if that is possible....

I have some books and guides, but they are never a substitute for a good recommendation from the locals!!

thanks in advance for all your help!!

Kathe
Old 08-12-2010, 01:23 PM

Welcome to the forum. You didn't mention what you'd like to fish for and how far you'd like to travel.
Old 08-12-2010, 02:37 PM

If possible, I'd like to stay as close to the city as possible - couple hours drive or so.

What I'd like to fish for? Good question!! I'm not overly familiar with the northern species, so I'm open to anything!

Down South, I fished mostly for trout and bass - all on private stocked lakes and rivers.

I have been fly fishing a few times (my Dad runs fly fishing clinics in his neck of the woods) but I'd rather spin cast and try out my new little boat on the first few trips.

Kathe
Old 08-12-2010, 03:07 PM

Ok, world of options then, I'll stick to a few. Get a copy of the Barry Mitchell's fishing guide, available at the fishin hole or canadian tire, etc. In there there is a list of AB lakes with species and directions. Correspond that with your regs books for regulations.