Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 08-22-2016, 02:18 PM

Default How Does Cattle Grazing affect Deer Hunting?

Hey Guys,
I am looking forward to the start of archery season! I've been scouting one area since early spring and I was really starting to feel like I might have a shot at filling my first tag on the bow... However I was in the same spot 2 weeks ago and there are now cattle everywhere. I talked with the required parks department and they mentioned that this area often sees later season cattle grazing (Aug-Oct).
Now I'm in a bit of a predicament. Do I hunt the spot that I've scouted hard since early this year... or do I abandon it due to the cattle?

I apologize if this is a stupid question, I am new to this and hoping to gain some insight from guys that have been doing this for years.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 08-22-2016, 02:19 PM
Banned

once the cows are out the deer come back within a couple of weeks.
Old 08-22-2016, 03:38 PM

Cows can definitely change how, or if, deer will continue to use an area. Deer will avoid areas of heavy cattle use - they don't like the noise and disturbance. However, there may be areas cattle won't go, usually in heavy cover. Deer will be concentrated in those areas, which can make it easier to pattern them. Sometimes cattle can concentrate deer movement.
Also, if there is a fence or some other barrier, that the cattle can't cross, deer will often use that as a travel corridor.

Overall I don't like when cattle are present. But, sometimes it can actually help.
Old 08-22-2016, 04:01 PM

Good question, i was wondering the same thing. Ive had a buck id been watching since last hunting season, then lost track of him with a trail cam full of pictures of cows
Old 08-22-2016, 05:37 PM

Cattle can affect access permission. Obviously, if no permission is granted when cattle are present, then it drastically affects the hunt
Is this a grazing lease?
Old 08-22-2016, 07:25 PM