Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 08-05-2010, 11:06 PM

Default Grouse dog

Any dog experts here?

I have no experience training dogs for hunting but I enjoy taking my 4 year old whatever-the-heck-he-is, Kirby, grouse hunting with me because I love his company. He has no hunting bloodline that I know of (his mother was a rescue dog that we think is some bizarre mix of white German shephard, border collie and maybe husky). My hope is that he'll run around and flush birds for me. I have no anticipation that he'll ever retrieve, although I believe he has an instinct to point at things he's interested in. He's active and he's obedient about coming when I call him back if I think he's gone too far. To his credit, he has found birds for me and I've given him lots of praise for doing so. He's not gun-shy (brain-shy, maybe).

Today I bought a bottle of something called Grouse Scent at WSS. Assuming it actually smells like a grouse my idea is to douse this stuff on the tennis balls that Kirby loves to chase and chew, throw the balls around for him for the rest of the summer, and hopefully he'll learn to associate the smell with Fun. When the shooting season starts and I turn him loose I'm hoping he'll follow any grouse scents he picks up, expecting to find a ball at the other end and cause a flush.

I guess the obvious joke would be to expect him to chew up my dead birds as though they were tennis balls (this dog can chew up hockey pucks) but I'm not concerned about that.

What do the dog handlers think of this training technique?

Thanks!
Old 08-05-2010, 11:14 PM

Default Wrong Category

Dang, I meant to post in Hunting - Moderators, can you correct? Sorry.
Old 08-06-2010, 06:45 AM
Amy