Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 03-02-2015, 07:42 PM

Default Getting sick of thieves

I dont no about you guys but im sick of people stealing my trail cameras. Especially on my own land.

What are some of the tactics you guys use to deter thieves, other then a lock box?
I was lookin on the internet for a gps tracker but couldnt find anything worthy.
Old 03-02-2015, 07:51 PM

Maybe you could rig up a mount that angles the camera down so you can put it up higher in the tree? I have no experience at all with trail cams, but I'd venture a guess if you need a ladder to get at it chances are thieves will never see it
Old 03-02-2015, 08:01 PM

Find a trail that doesnt have much game movement on it (dont want any accidental catches). set up cam in obvious spot. 330 with a pan trigger (or similar device) under leaves or snow, beside the cam.

You could leave a smelly sock or two around to deter the 4 legged animals. You will hear the stupid 2 legged....well, 1.5 legged...ones, when they get what they deserve.

Kidding....kind of.

Just learn to hide them better. If it can be found, it will get stolen.
Old 03-02-2015, 08:09 PM

My one buddy had issues with trespassers stealing cams and poaching two years back.
We tried all of the conventional methods. These two guys kept coming back every weekend, without fail.
We finally decided to hunker down in some bushes and wait them out. We had some trail cams up as "bait". When they showed up we came running out like bats out of hell, shooting starter pistols all over the place yelling, and ran them right out.
These two never returned. An evening out of our time prevented many more hours of anger.
Might not of been the most legal way to deal with things, however it worked....

If its more unpredictable criminals i like the 330 idea...
I am all for following the law, however in dealing with criminals i DO believe two wrongs make a right.
Old 03-02-2015, 08:37 PM