Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 10-27-2016, 02:15 PM

Default Hunting Clothing...where to start?

I've been looking at investing in some quality hunting clothing this year but not sure where to start. I obviously am not going to run out there and buy a complete kuiu or Sitka layering system all at once. Well, not if I want to stay married anyway. So my question is where to start base layers first? Merino wool?
Or does a guy go outer layers first? There is obviously not right or wrong answer as there are many variables ie: style & conditions I hunt but I just want to hear some opinions and thoughts. Maybe someone will say something I haven't thought of yet.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
Old 10-27-2016, 02:34 PM
Banned

i've been riding that wool train for the last 5 years and i love it
Old 10-27-2016, 02:43 PM

cotton is very common cause it is cheap, but cotton absorbs moisture from the air and your sweat and it stays in the clothes for a very long time. the moisture then sucks the heat right out of you all day long. If it is hot autumn bowhunting, then cotton is great, but if you plan on hunting at any temperatures colder than +5*C i would avoid any cotton at all costs, even as an outer layer when you have wool or polyester as base layers.

as for base layers, Merino wool is excellent as it is a natural fiber that rejects moisture and bacteria so it doesnt hold smell much and it wicks wetness. wool isnt great for cutting wind though, and because it doesnt hold moisture, it isnt great for blocking rain. if there is snow or rain, i have a goretex style technology nylon shell. note i said shell, I try to avoid thickly insulated items because you can use those shells in hot and cold. If its cold you can throw on 1000 layers underneath it. If it is hot then you dont want insulated stuff. Another nice thing about a shell rain jacket and pants is that it packs up pretty small and can be in the bottom of a backpack.