Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 11-08-2020, 02:40 PM

Default Marcum Mission low light conditions

Hi all,

I have been looking at the Marcum Mission SD. I have a flasher already and thought a camera would be a good way to round out the arsenal. Problem is my local waters are fairly stained, and we always end up with about 3 feet of ice with heavy snow cover by the time the bite picks up during the spawn. Does not seem ideal for a camera.

Budget is about 600 bucks, anything else out there that might do better in low light? Or will they all have a hard time?

Thank you for your time and advice
Old 11-09-2020, 09:56 PM

Or will they all have a hard time?

I have no first hand experience with the Marcum Mission SD, my Marcum 825C is a few years old & works great in Sylvan. On a bright sunny day I can look down the hole & see my flashing spoon in 16-18 FOW. My camera will pick-up the spoon clearly when it's about 6-8 ft behind me. Before day break or after dusk you lose sight of your presentation 3-5 ft away. In dark stained water, it's barely visible. I try to keep my camera at least 5-6 ft behind me, I find too many White's in shallow water are camera shy. Don't need to worry about Walleye, Pike, Burbs or even Perch lots have tried to eat the camera head.

Perhaps others can advise further.

You may wish to stick with the flasher.

Let us know what you end up with ... wish you all the success this hard water season.

Cheers

D.

Last edited by Zip-in-Z; 11-09-2020 at 10:03 PM.
Old 11-10-2020, 08:24 AM

I have had the Marcum 485C for probably 4-5 years. It isn't the exact model you are looking at, but I thought I would share my experiences.