Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 12-10-2016, 09:03 PM

Default Shotgun Recommendations

Hey I am new to Shotguns and been looking around and would like some opinions, For now I will be shooting clays but would like to get into bird hunting in the future. So right now its between the Benelli Super Nova pump 12 guage or the Browning Silver Hunter Semi Auto 12 Guage. Id like to keep it around one grand for price, I am open to other recommendations but these 2 felt best when i looked at them in the store
Old 12-10-2016, 09:17 PM

Take each gun you are interested in, close your eyes, shoulder the gun, and then open your eyes without moving the gun at all. If you are looking directly along the rib, rather than at it, and it is centered left to right, then the gun is at least close to fitting you. If the gun does not fit you, you won't shoot to your potential with it. For learning skeet, or sporting clays, or doubles trap, a semi auto is a better choice than a pump action, but an experienced shooter can do quite well with a pump action.
Old 12-10-2016, 09:18 PM

When you're in the store again -

Pick a spot on the wall that's safe and clear to point to, keep it in your minds eye.

Shoulder each gun with eyes closed.

Open eyes and see if you are pointing at the spot and can see it well. If you see the back of the receiver or tons of rib, it's a poor fit. If you feel the barrel is aligned to your satisfaction, buy it! In short - Nothing's as important as fit in shotguns.

I would also recommend that you check out a Browning BPS or few before buying, as well as a Wingmaster 870 for Pump guns. For Auto don't forget to test the Mossberg 930's out, they have a skookum new Sporting Clays model either out now or coming soon... Maybe consider Remington's V3.

Just a few ideas.... Best of luck on your purchse! Let us know how it goes here on AO.
Old 12-10-2016, 10:11 PM