Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 02-21-2012, 11:07 AM

Default Employee Stealing

I need to vent a little and see what you would do in my situation.
I have owned a small business for the past 11 years. I have had a lot of interesting experiences with employees over the years but this one takes the cake. After three kids and seven years of marriage me and my wife went on a cruise for a week middle of January. Sales had been slow when I was gone but we are a seasonal business so it wasn't too unusual.
My wife and two older children went to a movie Family day so after my youngest got up from a nap I decided to go to my office for a couple hours.
One of my Sunday workers was stopping by the office to take a truck to the dump for me. I grabbed the spare key and headed outside to warm the truck up for him. While in the truck I looked in the clipboard for any paperwork the crew may have left from Saturday. I was unpleasantly surprised to find five receipts from cash jobs all from the week that I was away. I headed back inside to my office and immediately checked to see if those receipts had been entered into the computer. The jobs had been canceled by the manager whose clipboard I had found the receipts in. He is so dumb that if he had destroyed the receipts I would have never found out about this. What he did was write the receipt like normal giving them an copy. When I was away it was his job to do the deposits and enter paperwork into the computer. Instead of entering those five jobs that total over $1000 he canceled them and put the money into his pocket.
Now what to do with him? Well of course I am going to fire him.
One option is to phone the police and report him. The down side to that is that I would still have to pay him the hours that he has worked since the last pay period.