Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 02-12-2019, 09:57 PM

Default Mutual funds

Anyone else taking a chit kicking in mutual funds pulled them all and put in GICs until this economy/ govt scandals settles down low term of course, yes I know that they should be a long term investment but I don’t like negative 8 % returns when my best year has only been maybe 4 I’m not an expert by any means but this is going to be one shakey year in Canada investment wise
Old 02-12-2019, 10:20 PM

I personally don't like mutual funds and would much rather build my own mutual fund by just buying the stocks that mutual funds hold, the fees on mutual funds are growth killers at 2.5 to 3.5 %, meaning you don't make a nickle until the returns exceed the fees. ETF's are a much better way to go if you don't have the capital to diversify on your own.
On a different note, not clear why you would want to sell your mutual funds in a down market unless you think they will never come back. You should be buying more if you think the market is down.
Its like saying "honey housing prices have tanked so we better sell, we can buy back in when the prices go back up" Makes no sense to me.
'
Old 02-12-2019, 10:56 PM

If you are selling it .. better to have something to put it in and not just let it sit , build your own little portfolio look at the the bank stock at least you get better return then the gic
Old 02-13-2019, 12:23 AM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greasemonkey View Post
Anyone else taking a chit kicking in mutual funds pulled them all and put in GICs until this economy/ govt scandals settles down low term of course, yes I know that they should be a long term investment but I don’t like negative 8 % returns when my best year has only been maybe 4 I’m not an expert by any means but this is going to be one shakey year in Canada investment wise