Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 05-08-2010, 08:11 PM

Default Over&Under Shotguns

I own & shoot afew different rifles but as yet do not own a shotgun.I live on a large acreage & would like to shoot clay,s at home.I would like to buy a shotgun to use at home & also shoot ducks & geese.Have looked at cortona & yildiiz both around $1300 any input on experience with either of these or opinions would be appriciated. Thanks.
Old 05-08-2010, 08:25 PM

Default Browning

I would spend a little more and get a Browning Cynergery or Citori. Will pay off in the end.

I see theres a Cynergy for sale in the hunting items that is going for cheap.
Old 05-08-2010, 08:38 PM

I have no experience with a Cartona so I can't speak about them.

The Yildiz Guns look nice, but from what I have been told, they will not stand up to a lot of use, like a trap gun sees. Most hunting shotguns see far fewer shells.

Next, why an over/under? I am not trying to dissuade you, I just wonder what your criteria was for choosing one instead of a semi or pump.
Old 05-08-2010, 08:44 PM

I would avoid Yildiz if you intend to do a lot of shooting.You would be better off with a used Citori or Beretta for your intended use.
Old 05-08-2010, 09:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gun+Rod View Post
I would spend a little more and get a Browning Cynergery or Citori. Will pay off in the end.

I see theres a Cynergy for sale in the hunting items that is going for cheap.
The Cortona will go the distance with either of those Brownings. - it's not an entry level gun, just an OEM by FAIR, a very respected name in Italian shotguns.
Cat
Old 05-08-2010, 11:06 PM

X2 on the Cynergy. I have shot 525 brownings, and they are awesome, but the for me the Cynergy fits better, feels better balanced, and swings better.