Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 10-02-2016, 11:54 AM

Default Blackberry Passport

Preface, if you are a Blackberry hater, please move along, I don't need to hear all the bashing from those who don't even use them...

So it seems as though Blackberry is getting out of the hardware market, and will be licensing and outsourcing their phone production, while concentrating on their software. I've been using BB for about 8 years, very happy with them in all ways, but figured I should get a new one in case future models lose their quality construction. I've had a Curve, Bold, and currently use a Classic. I love the simplicity of updating to a new phone with the Blackberry Desktop software.

I decided to buy an unlocked BB and put it away for the day when the Classic ever shuts down, if it does. Was going to get another Classic, but the Passport can be had right now direct from BB for $329, ($345 shipped, tax, all in). Read some reviews, watched some videos, and ordered one. Wondering if there are any users here and how they like it compared to the Bold, Curve, Classic. Watching the reviews/comparisons on youtube, it is in most aspects superior to the IPhone 6 (which as I side note has class action law suits in Canada and the USA for 'screen freeze' issues, I was reading this morning). I'm not an IPhone fan after seeing how fragile they are, my kids have gone through a half dozen iterations while my Classic keeps chugging along. You also can't beat the fact that it is a third the price, did I mention that? Anyway...any BB people on the forum, or am I the only 'dinosaur', as all my iPhone using friends call me.....but for my 'office in a pocket', the BB fits me perfectly. Rugged, reliable, phone/text/email and some browsing. No games or apps needed, thanks.

Did I mention how much I detest listening to someone talk to Siri?

'You can accomplish a lot more with a kind word and a gun, than with a kind word alone.' Al Capone