Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 01-05-2014, 08:44 PM
Banned

Default High Paying Camp/Oil Sand jobs WITH Degree/school

Hey Everyone!

I'm a 17 year old student from Kelowna, with my last year of high school. I'm currently stuck in a weird situation job wise. I wanted to be a Power Engineer until my dads friend pointed out some good things why I shouldn't become one. Instead he said at the camps he goes to up North the Electricians make $150K (with experience obvs). So now I'm edging towards that but I'm still open to look.

Does anyone know of any low labour jobs with schooling to be making some good coin?

Means alot!
-M
Old 01-05-2014, 09:24 PM

Low labour? Ummm. No.

I work up north in the camps. 150/yr is possible - prolly need a bit of OT though. If you work directly for one of the big companies, wages often $55/hr or better. If you work for a contractor, $10 to $15 less. The job goes from work your ass of to wear your ass off. You don't know which it will be. If you can't work your ass off when the time comes...
Old 01-05-2014, 09:31 PM

Being Green... you are going to make much less. If you have already started your PE training keep it up. They are in need up there and that piece of paper will help you along. If you want to be a PE that is a good way to go, especially if you have the drive to work your way up to a 2nd class or better. THEN you will be making the 150k+ per year up there. If you are already working on your 4th class apply with some of the big companies up there, (Suncor and Syncrude) they make pick you up while you are doing schooling.
I work in the oilpatch, I make very good money, but I have also been doing it since 1998 when I moved here from BC.
If you come out here green, with nothing but your safety tickets and a high school diploma do not expect to make big money. You will start at the bottom and work your way up.
Old 01-05-2014, 09:34 PM
Banned

Quote: