Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-07-2017, 08:40 AM
Gone Hunting

Default boat electronics??

My brother just had a new boat built. He's looking to add a Minnkota autopilot and a fish finder to it.

Who would you recommend to go to or stay away from ? I've had zero experience with this stuff.

It isn't a question of who will allow me, but who will stop me.. Ayn Rand
Old 05-07-2017, 12:21 PM

Is he buying and installing or buying and needs installing?

If he goes with MinnKota he should go with Humminbird fish finders.

Helix line is good. Gen 2 Helix is out and if he wants to save money might find some good prices on the Gen 1's.

made in Alberta__ born n raised.

FS-Tinfool hats by the roll.
Old 05-07-2017, 02:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by huntsfurfish View Post

Helix line is good. Gen 2 Helix is out and if he wants to save money might find some good prices on the Gen 1's.
We agree !!!!

I'd would suggest he gets a Hummingbird unit with Autochart Live. It's a great tool.

The hummingbird will also work with the minnkota i-pilot link and he will be able to have the motor follow the contours off the maps he makes using Autochart.
Old 05-07-2017, 04:42 PM
Gone Hunting

Quote:
Originally Posted by EZM View Post
We agree !!!!

I'd would suggest he gets a Hummingbird unit with Autochart Live. It's a great tool.

The hummingbird will also work with the minnkota i-pilot link and he will be able to have the motor follow the contours off the maps he makes using Autochart.
Yep that's what he's looking for. any suggestions on best dealer?

It isn't a question of who will allow me, but who will stop me.. Ayn Rand
Old 05-07-2017, 05:46 PM

Check out the Minn Kota Terrova, it is feature packed and can link to your Helix depending on the model. The new Pontoon series are very similar to the Powerdrive V2 models but include a quick release bracket.