Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 10-07-2018, 03:12 PM

Default Break in - to brush or not to brush?

Break in procedures say shoot, clean, shoot clean for the first 10 shots but I have a pragmatic question .....

Do you really need to run the brass brush down every pass? Or would a wet patch followed by a clean one or two be OK than maybe the brush every 3rd shot or so?

Logical thought to me says the reason the break in procedures stipulate this is to ensure a cool down while the barrel goes through it's initial warming and normalising (cooling) cycle. Once a barrel goes through several heating and cooling cycles it stabilises and reduces the possibility of any deformation if the process is "controlled" never too hot and never too quickly.

I'm not an expert - so I'm asking ....

I know I will get there will some fouling, but on every shot I'm ripping a brush through the bore? really?
Old 10-07-2018, 03:37 PM

2 rifles did not break in, 2 rifles did. All Same calibre. 1 rifle from not broke in gets 0.5moa groups, other 1.25moa.... broke in guns, 0.75moa and 1.25 moa...

Your steel barrel is much harder than a brass or nylon brush. Just be cautious of banging a steel rod around in there.

I think an oilsoaked patch followed by a dry patch is good enough for getting any fragments of fresh machined bits out. Do it well before shooting the first round. A few after each first couple shots. But dont waste too much time or ammo.

Last edited by Nyksta; 10-07-2018 at 03:50 PM.
Old 10-07-2018, 07:00 PM

BI will not make a bad barrel into a good barrel... The purpose is to address early fouling by discouraging any copper build-up. When done properly, a barrel (the throat) should be more resistant to fouling and since copper is an enemy of “accuracy” ... well, the cleaner the barrel, the better it should shoot.