Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 04-02-2012, 05:07 PM

Default Fishing Edmonton

Hey,

First of all I would like to say that I'm new to the site, and I'm SURE everyone has answered the questions i'm going to ask many many times for that i'm sorry.

I'm new to Edmonton, Moving from Manitoba working in the city. I am new to fly fishing but have spin cast since I could walk. When moving to a new province so much changes in regards to losing fishing spots and having a lack of knowledge about the area.

I have tried to do my research on where and when and what to use and any information I could to bring in how to fish successfully in the area.

Now for the questions,

I am currently living way south (Windemere) and I'm wondering if there are any key spots where I can drop a line and be successful. I'm really interested in catching any and all fish, not to keep but just for sport and to introduce my girlfriend to fishing.

I would be greatful for any details on a few spots and bait, lures that people find work for different species of fish. I would enjoy trying to hook a sturgeon, goldeye.

Also very interested in any where I can fly fish apart from the stock ponds which I have taught myself to flyfish and have caught (nothing big) 10'' Rainbows.

I have read so much information, on walking in the Bow, McLeod, Whitemud creek, and a few other places. However I would like some more information. That being said I know no one likes giving their secret fallback spots and don't expect anyone to do so, but I need somewhere to start!

Any information is appreciated and Fishing season is quickly coming and hope everyone stays safe, and has a great year!
Old 04-02-2012, 05:37 PM

Here's a link to help you find fly fishing spots in the Edmonton area.

Fly Fishing Edmonton

Cheers,
Doc
Old 04-02-2012, 06:42 PM