Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 01-22-2019, 10:27 AM

Unhappy Whitefish texture from Gull

Hey folks how's the fishing?
I have a question to ask everyone here that has taken some WHITEFISH from Gull Lake this year.
I have cooked fish from here many, many times over the last 12 years, and we have noticed that this year, the meat goes all mushy when cooked. I have a great recipe that I use, and the hubs takes the utmost care of the fish when cleaning and filleting. Now when I coat and fry up, they just fall apart, even my total fish loving son rejected it.

I am an excellent cook and have made whitefish in this way soooo many times and it never falls apart or turned mushy, it's a delicious recipe that family members also use.

It's like I'm trying to fry a Goldeye...

I wonder what's going on? My husband's cousin lives right on the lake, and he said that when he took the boat out last spring, he seen all kinds of dead whitefish floating around.

Last edited by Nikanit; 01-22-2019 at 10:48 AM.
Old 01-22-2019, 12:23 PM

Odd. Not sure if the little mister is skinning your fillets. Leave the skin on and just scale the soft fish.
Sometimes I've had whitefish partially freeze while out on the lake and then thawed to fillet and it seems to make some of the fish softer. The bigger whites seems so fatty and hard to cook firmly too.

Maybe Omega can give some insight into the curse of the fall apart fillets.
It is when you walk alone in nature that you discover your strengths and weaknesses. ~ Red Bullets
Old 01-22-2019, 02:11 PM

Hahaha..."little mister"...he leaves the skin on and has always done it like this as per fishing regs. Like I said, we have never before had this happen with whitefish. Tomorrow we are off to Sylvan, and if we score, we will do that one up and report back
Old 01-22-2019, 02:30 PM