Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 10-15-2018, 10:20 AM

Default Goose hunting

I am new to hunting. Last season, I tried a lot to hunt Canada goose but no success. I want to hunt public land. Like DUC sites or ACA sites. I have spent long hours searching online but no info.

As I said, I am new to hunting and do not have decoys. I bought a some homemade decoys from Kijiji and i think they are ok. I do not know where to go.

I live in Calgary and I do not want to drive 6 to 8 hours.

Any help is appreciated
Old 10-15-2018, 10:40 AM

http://www.albertadiscoverguide.com/search.cfm

If you want to hunt DU sites or ACA land, this is the best place to start. For geese, private farm land often is the best. Go drive around the area surrounding Calgary and talk to landowners. Most are very welcoming to hunters.
Old 10-15-2018, 12:10 PM

Default Goose hunting

I'm hunting out of Edmonton but I hunt about an hour out of the city and have had good success with getting permission for waterfowl hunting. Just make sure to be polite and respect for to the landowners and if you don't get permission, find another field and keep asking. Geese love peas but will be in wheat + barley fields. You will definitely be better off on private land though.
Old 10-15-2018, 01:05 PM

Default most good goose shoots

Are located by driving around looking for feeding geese determining who the landowner is and seeking permission. some one saying they saw geese feeding near "xyz" yesterday or last week will do you no good because they often change fields daily or every few days.