Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 10-30-2014, 05:07 PM

Default got a river boat and want to take kids to float the river in spring for a black bear. Any help on where to start?

I want to take the family of the river to hunt bear this spring and maybe elk next fall. But not sure where I should look at going. Don't want it to be to hard of a river for there first trip. Anyone tried the wapiti west of GP. Or is the peace still a good river?
Old 10-30-2014, 06:42 PM

Always hear good things about the little smokey. But I have no experience to offer you.

Biggmac
Old 10-30-2014, 07:37 PM

The Peace River. Lots of places to launch. Easy river to float. Depends how many days you want to float. I'd start at Many Islands or farther up stream. A few good cabins and camp sites to stop at. Pm me if you want more info.
Old 10-30-2014, 09:16 PM

Peace river or the athabasca for bear. Peace river for elk but you're not going to shoot elk from the river, have to hike hard to get on them. But bears can be had right from the bateau
Old 10-31-2014, 07:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torkdiesel View Post
Peace river or the athabasca for bear. Peace river for elk but you're not going to shoot elk from the river, have to hike hard to get on them. But bears can be had right from the bateau
Elk moose and deer on the islands usually when the season opens. There's always people hunting the Peace here with success
Old 10-31-2014, 10:14 AM

Default Jet Boat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martyn6 View Post
I want to take the family of the river to hunt bear this spring and maybe elk next fall. But not sure where I should look at going. Don't want it to be to hard of a river for there first trip. Anyone tried the wapiti west of GP. Or is the peace still a good river?
What style of Jet Boat did you buy?I would be interested in maybe traveling with you on a bear hunt if your looking for company? nice to have two boats.
Old 10-31-2014, 10:45 AM

Quote: