Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 01-14-2008, 11:04 PM

Default Tip Up Instructions

So....I bought two tip ups today....because I want to be able to learn what I like since I'm new to ice fishing. One was super easy to set up but the second is incredibly frustrating. I know it's something simple that I'm missing. I've Googled it, but can't seem to find it. Anyone know where I can find instructions on the Sub Zero Trophy Tamer Tip-Up? Heading out to Cow tomorrow so I'd love to figure it out by then.
Old 01-15-2008, 12:33 AM

Or....any tip-up?
Old 01-15-2008, 08:28 AM
TundraBuck

Aaaah the old trophy tamer... We had a hard time when we first got ours. That is this design right?

Sort of that idea?

If so, all you do is loosen the screws to get it set up like that. Now, I know the frabill trophy tamer doesnt have that extra piece on the flag shaft, so just allow the T bar to sit about 2 or 3 inches above the plastic/wood. From there, put the flagshaft underneath the T bar. Now when the fish starts pulling out line, up goes the flag.

If you get into tipup fishing, you HAVE to get the Frabill Polar Therms. They cover the whole hole, preventing it from freezing over, and they stack nicely in a 5 gallon pail. I love them.

Hope this helps.
Old 01-16-2008, 01:02 PM

Thanks! I had it all wrong...the only thing that the packaging said was if it is windy to tuck the flag under one part, and if it is not windy to tuck the flag under another part...so I was trying to figure out how it worked if I laid the whole thing flat out instead of as a T.

I am heading back out to Cow on the weekend most likely so I'll have to test it out.
Old 01-16-2008, 05:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mish View Post
I am heading back out to Cow on the weekend most likely so I'll have to test it out.
Good luck to ya - let us know how ya make out
Old 01-17-2008, 05:09 PM