Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 01-19-2022, 10:53 AM

Default Marten hunting

Hello friends!
I am a beginner hunter and I like to walk through the forest with my dogs and look for pine martens. This winter, I decided to film my trips to the forest with dogs and make short films about it. Perhaps you also have films about the marten and I propose to share them in this thread

https://youtu.be/yOCIykl29b4
Old 01-19-2022, 10:55 AM

This time I wanted to shoot a marten jumping on the branches, but I got tangled in the bushes and could not keep up with the dogs. As a result, the marten deceived the dogs and jumped into the rubble from the trees. One dog did not see this moment, and the other tried to catch up with her, but could not and lost among the fallen trees. I did not distance myself at all, because the marten remained to live in the forest and we still had the opportunity to find it again another day.

https://youtu.be/mTyTR6UCRF4
Old 01-19-2022, 10:56 AM

The marten is nocturnal and often walks through the forest at dusk in the evening and morning. Therefore, marten can be hunted by sitting by the fire and waiting for the dogs to find the marten and drive it up a tree. After the marten is driven up the tree, the dogs will bark at it and call the hunter for help in catching the pine marten. In this video, I tried to show how such a hunt takes place in the early morning, an hour before sunrise.

https://youtu.be/7vNutYi_3v0
Old 01-19-2022, 12:03 PM

On the road in front of my house, east of Sundre would you believe ?

Grizz

Isaiah 5:8
Old 01-19-2022, 01:20 PM

That’s pretty cool videos comrade, but I noticed that you are carrying the shotgun. Don’t you put too many holes in the pelt with a shotty? Why don’t you use the .22LR?
What are you doing with pelts?
Old 01-19-2022, 01:31 PM
Banned

Sure am glad that I only allowed 20 min of my day to be "lost" watching this U tube production ..
Old 01-19-2022, 02:23 PM

Quote: