Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-25-2023, 09:37 AM

Default Another Vantage Thread

Hey all, so I was able to find a brand new 36 V vantage from Winnipeg and got it sent over. The boat has a receptacle that was wired in for another 36 V Vantage but the style of Vantage has changed slightly. Previous model was a 2016 and this is the 2021 version. Same voltage and thrust but the wiring off the unit is a bit different. Wondering if anyone knows regarding wiring a marine plug to the new unit and plugging it into the existing receptacle which is properly wired and connected for the previous vantage. Would this cause any issues? I am not an electrician - far from it. Any info or insight is appreciated.
Old 05-25-2023, 09:52 AM

No issues with installing a different plug on the new Vantage to match your receptacle.

But......check, double check, and then triple check to make SURE you have the new plug installed to match the existing receptacle. A good quality volt meter and a diagram of the plug and receptacle are invaluable. Figure out how your receptacle is wired, and wire the new plug to match. There will be a common ground, a 12V and a 36V circuit. The exact configuration isn't critical, the only critical thing is matching the 12V and 36V circuits on your setup.

The 12V circuit is for the lift motor, and the 36V circuit for the thrust motor. If you cross them - POOF - and you're into trying to find a new circuit board and lift motor components. There's basically no margin for error...

Not difficult or complicated, you can do it yourself, just take your time and make sure it's right before you plug it in.
Old 05-25-2023, 03:40 PM

Thanks for the reply. I know what you are saying but the previous wiring coming off the Vantage itself was different. This new motor has a yellow wire with seemingly no ground to pair it with. I'm concerned the existing wiring for the receptacle running to the batteries is different somehow.