Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 08-27-2014, 03:49 PM

Default Hunting Geese without Decoys?

Gents
What are the odds of hunting geese with only a dozen decoys? I want to get into this, but i cant buy and store 10 dozen decoys......

Anyone have any luck with just a dozen?

Any tips for a new bird hunter would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again.
Old 08-27-2014, 03:52 PM

I dont hunt geese but I've heard that only a dozen will still work. Might not be able to attract the big flocks but still pick off the smaller groups flying around. Take it with a grain of salt, I have little actual experience. I've only done research
Old 08-27-2014, 04:02 PM

They will work...especially now in the early season
Old 08-27-2014, 04:20 PM

Default Few decoys

In the right spot of a feeding area you can do well as long as you are well hidden, early season willow stand, gulley in the field to hide your profile,, will keep geese focused on the decoys and not the blind.
Happy hunting
Old 08-27-2014, 04:32 PM
Banned

I've hunted with a dozen before, it works fine.
Old 08-27-2014, 06:49 PM

I have used as few as seven for a number of years and did very well: enjoyed going with the minimalist approach. It doesn't matter whether you have six decoys or one hundred decoys, if you are where the geese want to be, you should do well.
Old 08-27-2014, 07:58 PM

That's all I use (8), especially early in the season....when I'm really lazy or by myself, I've used as little as 4-6.

That's early season. Later in the season, I'll put out 24, as that's all I have.
Old 08-27-2014, 08:31 PM

Smile There are 3 ways

1. Decoy them (be underneath them when they arrive).
2.Backshoot them, be underneath them when they leave, return to the roost or fly low coming into feed.
3. Pass shooting, just what it sounds like, they travel 12 feet with every flap aim for the bill.