Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 08-09-2009, 01:10 PM

Default Do we have a boat trailer expert?

I purchased a 14' Lund Rebel in the spring. It came with a EZ-loader trailer. I have trouble loading and unloading the boat. For the boat to float off the trailer, it has to be so far into the water that the back end of the vehicle is submerged and the exhaust pipe too.
This trailer has 13" wheeels and leaf springs. Then the boat is on it, it is chest high, much higher than others I have seen. The axle sits beneath the leaf springs, help in place by 'U' bolts. I could lower the whole thing a bit by purchasing smaller wheels and tires but I hate to as these are in like new condition.
I am wondering if I can mount the axle above the springs, and still use the 'U' bolts to secure it in place? Any ideas?
Old 08-09-2009, 01:20 PM
Banned

I am by no means an expert but here are a couple ideas.

Yes you can move the axle above the springs a lot of trailers come this way. But,, this may require some adaptation. Most axles have a flat plate welded onto them where the leaf springs sit. So you may have to get this modified check into this. As well is there any room to lower the rollers or rails. Some trailers are set up quite high look at the boat when it is sitting on the trailer if you have some room to lower most have adjustment holes to lower or raise the boat.

Good luck..
Old 08-09-2009, 01:50 PM

Thanks for the response. Everything on this trailer is set as low as possible. I fugure that I am not the first person to have had this problem. The guy I bought it from has a real high 4X4 and was prepared to back up into waist deep water. I just think that there has to be a better way.