Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 09-26-2012, 06:41 PM

Default Got PAL, need Firearm

I'm from Calgary, and my buds back home assure me that this is the place to go for advice. I now live in the Canadian Arctic and will be soon be hunting caribou and muskox. Next month I'll be back in Calgary for a visit and would love some advice on where to go to buy my first firearm, and which firearm would best suite my hunting plans.

What I need:
- recommendation for a store in Calgary selling firearms and providing quality advice
- recommendation for the type/brand of rifle and scope that will best suite my situation

Specifically, my situation is:
- just got my PAL, hunting license and tags
- I have some experience hunting with friends and target shooting with rifles and shotguns, but am still basically a noob
- will be hunting caribou and muskox in all seasons in the dark and extreme cold of the arctic (with hard core Inuit elders who will save my backside if things get greasy)

My budget is $1000 for the rifle and scope. I am serious enough about this to invest time and money, but I'm not super hard core. What is the "just get a Mac" solution for my situation?

My apologies for committing any common and foolish errors in my first point on this forum. Thank you for your thoughts and time.
Old 09-26-2012, 07:27 PM

Default tikka 338

with your budget go to wholesale sports pickup a tikka in .338 and grab a burris fullfield 2 to put on it and you will be hunting like a champ
Old 09-26-2012, 07:55 PM

Great, thanks for the recommendation. Is there a reason why you recommend that particular rifle?
Old 09-26-2012, 08:29 PM

I know a lot of people who suggest tikka's.. I have shot one and I really didnt like it over my savage (much lighter.. more recoil) thought im not sure the recoil going from a synthetic -> wood stock on a tikka does for the recoil..