Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-21-2012, 09:41 AM

Default Trying to get my daughter first fish near calgary?

I am new to alberta. I have done alot of searching and found alot of places suggested on this forum to fish. But so far been skunked. My daughter is 3, and can last about 20 minutes to a half hour before we resort to throwing rocks in the water which she can actually do for couple hours for the past 2 days, I have done alot of driving and tried out a few spots no luck.

We tried airdrie pond, dewitts pond, even drove out to mt lorette, and wedge pond. Today we are heading to pine coulee and i might try chain lake. She always asks to fish the tank at basspro. Friday when we picked up her fishing rod, we were walkin out and she says "the fishies are back there dad, I wanna go fishing you can catch a big one and Lilly can catch a small one" haha. Im thinking the basspro would be the best bet for her

This is my second fishing season here, she was too young last summer. I tried fishing the bow every weekend, from the bearspaw dam, down. Tried bowness park, tried edworthy. and waded a little bit. But never even got a strike. Back home i am used to fishing trout with a hook and worm. So the fishing with rapalas and spinners is new to me.

So my questions are these. Has anyone been out to the places i mentioned this year and got anything. If not suggestions on easy access to get her first fish? has to be shore fishing, my civic doesnt float
And I would like to know some tips for getting into some trout on the bow?
Old 05-21-2012, 09:45 AM

I think i saw on another thread that they just stalked airdrie pond and dewits on friday.
Old 05-21-2012, 09:57 AM

Default stocked