Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 11-05-2010, 09:31 AM

Arrow Left handed Rifles?

I have a Noob Question here...

This is my first year hunting and my uncle gave me a browning .308 lever action rifle. Prior to my first hunting trip, I tried to scope it in, and I'm hitting the target at about 100 yards..mind you i'm not hitting it dead center. Possibly a result of flinching and the good kick the rifle has..still not used to it.

My question is.. Do I need a left handed rifle? What's the difference between them?? I'm a left-handed guy and all but I pretty much know nothing about rifles when it comes to this and I also heard that since I'm tall with longer arms, I may need somthing that will fit better?

Anyhow, I would appreciate some clarification and advice since I would like to purchase a new rifle next season.
Cheers!
Old 11-05-2010, 09:37 AM

You can shoot a lever or pump either way and you will be alright. If you were to switch to a bolt you would want to get a left hand one.

Did you adjust the scope or are you using the previous settings from the other hunter?
Old 11-05-2010, 10:12 AM

Thanks for the reply Andrew.
I was thinking of going with a bolt action rifle too. Good to know!
Yes I was using the previous settings, however I did make some minor adjustments.

I was thinking of purchasing a bushnell magnetic bore sight, so I could fine tune it before next weeks hunt.
Old 11-05-2010, 10:23 AM

i am a lefty but i have never shot a left handed rifle. i am as accurate and as fast as any of my right handed friends with a right handed rifle...however....the ergonomics aren't as good. when the time comes for me to buy a new rifle i will be going lefty...i am just hoping by then the rifle i want (xbolt) is available in lefty...if not i will go for an A bolt.
Old 11-05-2010, 10:45 AM

Hey Burblecut,