Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 04-19-2023, 02:44 PM

Default Hunting rabbits with a GSG-16 in Alberta

Hey all - total beginner hunter, just sorting out my options. I own an SKS at the moment, and am still getting used to shooting that before I think about shooting at anything living with it.

Thinking for the future, I plan on getting a Mossberg 500 shotgun, and I'd like something for plinking, but I don't like the idea of buying something that can't also be used practically. Are there any reasons, provided I can achieve the requisite skill level to shoot accurately with a GSG-16, that I wouldn't be able to hunt rabbits with it in Alberta?
Old 04-19-2023, 03:07 PM

No problem at all! As long as you are comfortable with it, I shoot rabbits with my Wildcat 22LR and I love it!
Old 04-19-2023, 09:33 PM

Gsg 16 is a great and accurate rifle. Get the longer barrel option, not the short one, it’s appear to be more accurate. I do have one and I did hunt ruffies with it. Just remember that if you are going to scope it - you will need to consider that the point of impact will be approx 2” lower than your crosshairs.
I like this rifle a lot, easy to get in and out of a vehicle too because it’s shorter.
Old 04-19-2023, 11:18 PM

I’ll just say that if you are worrying about not being able to use your firearms for practical reasons - ie hunting - there is a very good chance you will not be able to use neither SKS, nor GSG at all legally in the foreseeable future, not just for hunting.

I’ll also add that neither of those would be my first (in fact, they both be way down on the list) choice for hunting, SKS in particular.
Old 04-20-2023, 12:43 AM

Yeah, I'd heard they reversed the potential SKS ban, but I spose we'll see.

I wanna see how accurate I can get with the SKS before I make the decision to use it for hunting - worst case scenario, it becomes a platform to learn proper shooting technique with relatively cheap ammo.