Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-21-2012, 03:07 PM

Default Pike Follow but no Strike - HELP

Hi Guys,

I am new to Pike fishing and was out on the weekend with my son. We caught 2 but most of the Pike just follwed behing the lure and did not strike... saw only about 6 or 8 on the whole morning... what gives? Any hints on retrieves, hot lures etc. Can't use bait where we fish.

Also what time is best? Ealry morning? We fished mid morning to about 1:30.

Are most of you covering lots of water casting to weedy shore lines etc?
Also tried out my fly rod but no luck...
Any help wold be welcome. Thanks!
Old 05-21-2012, 03:44 PM

Try mixing up your presentation a bit. For example, instead of a constant speed when reeling, change speeds throughout the retrieval- from faster to slower, etc. Or throw in a couple jerks when reeling, then let the spoon, spinner-bait, crank bait, etc, flutter towards the bottom before beginning to reel in again. In other words, try to show the pike something they haven't seen before.

I've found by changing up the motion of the lure, it can attract fish to hit it instead of just follow it. Even changing lures- types of lure or even colour- can change help entice fish to bite.

Sometimes it just won't matter what you do, the feed is just 'off' and they aren't aggressive enough to hit your lure.
Old 05-21-2012, 04:47 PM

Yup, what Mo said.
I've seen it thousand times where the pike would follow the lure right to shore then turn away. What I learned to do was slow the lure down a bit, but don't let it dead drop, then speed it up back up. Almost every time the pike would nail it at soon as I sped it up from a slow drop. Most times so close to shore I didn't need to real much, just grab the net.
Old 05-21-2012, 05:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoFugger21 View Post