Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 07-13-2023, 10:40 AM

Question Only Doe’s?

Just over a month ago I gained permission on an 80 acre parcel in the strathcona bow zone, I am fairly new to bowhunting and just sitting in one small area in general. I have placed out a few trail cameras on some beaten trails between some pretty thick cover and a big slew, these cameras have had pretty good success and have had a lot of activity, every couple hours I have a couple does or a doe and a fawn across the camera. Seems like a pretty healthy population. My only concern is that in this month I have not had a single picture of a buck. I’m wondering if this is something I should be concerned about and try thinking of a new area to setup operations or if this would be considered more of a good thing as once late October - mid November hits and the bucks start moving to find does they will move onto the property… just wondering if there’s anything I can do to try and entice more bucks to use the property, or if I’m just SOL….
Old 07-13-2023, 11:01 AM

80 acres is not that much land to manage buck/doe ratios or try and improve habitat especially between now and hunting season.

You can try clearing out trails as well if the landowner is okay with it. What does the land owner do with the land? Is the any crop land adjacent that the deer will be feeding in?
Old 07-13-2023, 11:26 AM

Friends have about 100 acres of woods surrounding 2 small farm fields. At this time of the year I get mostly does with their fawns and the smaller bucks on my cameras. By August I will start seeing the bigger bucks still in Velvet. By Sept, I start seeing what's really walking around as far as bucks go.