Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 10-08-2015, 02:06 PM

Default Question about camo

Question about camo: as far as I know, animals don't see in color. So why is it so important to much the camo to the surrounding? Does it really matter if it is darker or lighter pattern? As long as you stay still without a motion that animals can usually see - you should be pretty much invisible to the birds, for example.

Please do not abuse me with your answers, I am pretty new to it. When I went to cabellas I saw so many different camo patterns and they all looked good to me...
Old 10-08-2015, 02:37 PM
Banned

It's not about what it looks like to you, it's about what the pattern looks like to the animals, birds have different vision than animals as far as I know.

Most camo is design to hide from other hunters more so than hide from animals, Sitka camo is one pattern that is specifically designed towards fooling animals. Supposedly color has no baring, it's the pattern that matters most.
Old 10-08-2015, 02:48 PM

The importance of trying to best match the surrounding has little to due with color and everything to due with shades. Like you said if something doesn't see in color it see's in shades of black, white, grey so to speak. If something like a jacket looks very similar to the surroundings to us color wise, then the SHADES will be very similar and to them ( animals ) it will appear the same. When this happens there is nothing that looks out of place and breaks your human outline up. This is my opinion anyway. Take it for what it is.
Old 10-08-2015, 02:49 PM

Obviously camo is a personal choice, but I prefer more open patterns like these, a lot of camo is too tightly colored and becomes simply a solid colored blob at relatively short distances.

Old 10-08-2015, 02:53 PM

Default ASAT Camo

http://www.amazon.com/ASAT-Vanish-Sy.../dp/B00K0EDA9E