Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 11-05-2017, 06:21 PM

Default Cats ass Brass!

In the grand scheme of reloading how important is the Brass, in the equation?

From what I “think” I know (which is limited) Lapua is the best, and not too expensive. Norma is very good but expensive. Not sure how the others fall in the “pecking order”, Nosler Hornady, and others.

Does Brass offerings by certain companies play a role in your cartridge selection, ex: you choose a 7mm-08 or 6.5 Creemore because Lapua makes brass for it. Or do you buy the calibre and make what is offered by any company work ex: 280ai so you use Nosler Brass?

As far as I know Nosler is the only company making 280ai. How much work is involved in resizing 30-06 Lapua brass to 280 or 280ai and is it worth the effort?

Disclaimer: I am a beginner reloader who likes to shoot. This will be out of a accurate hunting rifle.
Old 11-05-2017, 06:31 PM

if it's not too late, forget the 280 ai; not enough gain for trouble.
if you need to form brass, and not in serious competition, run remington 280 fire formed.
very often get a forming load to shoot well enough to pound steel at distance or hunt with while forming.
for the money, rem or win brass will do everything crazy priced hornady or nosler brass will do.
lapua is as cheap or cheaper if it is offered in your chambering.

1. People who list their arguments in bullets points or numerical order generally come off as condescending pecker heads.

2. #1 is true.
Old 11-05-2017, 06:33 PM

It depends on what kind of shooting and what kind of results you want. Also, if you do things correctly, brass life is important.

Yeah, the go-to answer is just use Lapua.

If you want to get into serious long range precision shooting, you should do things correct from the start. If you're just hunting inside 300 yards, not such an issue. Also, it depends on how accurate the results you're after.

Lots of variables. Not enough time.