Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 10-08-2010, 11:17 PM

Default Alberta fishing in general

I put this on another post on a sister site. Please give me your thoughts!!

I think everybody in Alberta is looking for lake X !! with every perch is 12 inches. Unfortunately those days are gone. Low water levels, poaching, commercial fishing, High pressure, pollution (outbreak of coliforms at Pigeon, not from animals), smarter and better fisherpeople, oil companies using Megalitres of water, stocking besides trout is just about nil, and over development of the few jewels we had left.

The lakes that do contain some perch left are far and few between. They are lots of lakes with perch 3 inches long. I blame government cutbacks, less and less fish and wildlife officers and many other things. I have been fishing for over 30 years in AB and have never seen it so pathetic. When was the last time we stocked any lakes with Walleye besides fry or guys that are 3" long that have to fight for there lives.

In the 80's there was a big push to stock some lakes with Walleye. (Vincent by ST. Paul, Garner lake, Manns lake) are some of them that I have fished. So now we go out and put tags out to catch the few that are left. What a cash cow.

Beside writing are local politicians and practicing catch and release what else can we do?

I even took a trip to Andrew Lake Lodge this summer and stayed at Leland lake. Guess what. The average walleye was 15" and we had people in camp keeping 10 to 20 of these guys a day. Even our fly in lakes are taking a beating. So any given weekend 300 Walleye (spawners) are kept with no one regulating it. The owner could give a Shi_ as long as people are paying to see what is going on and have some kind of control mechanism on North and South Leland.

Sorry for my rant, but I have seen a decline in our lakes from year to year. I do not know what the answer is.