Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 06-20-2014, 03:13 PM

Default WMU 936 - Cooking Lake Blackfoot Recreation Area

Hello,

I am new to Edmonton and looking to get a whitetail this season. From what I have read, Cooking Lake Blackfoot is a great place to start! I was wondering if I could get some advice on where good spots are to hunt whitetail there, and what the best technique is (sit and call or walk the trails). Thanks and good luck this season!

Liam
Old 06-20-2014, 03:35 PM

Well Im not sure if it is a really good place to start. There is plenty of crown land north of Edmonton which may offer some better opportunities to a first time hunter. However, if you have your heart set on the blackfoot, read the regs on the hunt and understand the special regulations involved with hunting in the Blackfoot. Then pull out a pair of comfy boots or your mountain bike and start burning trail... scout scout scout... then when the season starts you will know where to look or know where to set up and call.
Old 06-20-2014, 03:39 PM

also on the main HUNTING page of the forum, there is a search feature in the upper right hand corner, use that to search the blackfoot. There have been many threads on the subject in the past.
Old 06-20-2014, 03:41 PM

Location: At the end of the Thirsty Beaver Trail, Pinsky lake, Alberta.

Welcome and all good advice given.

Be careful when you follow the masses, sometimes the "M" is silent...
Old 06-20-2014, 03:52 PM

For a first time hunter I would look north or west, your success rates will be WAY higher and retrieval will also be almost certainly easier, I hunt 936 extensively and it's definitely not a beginners spot or very good for WT's when compared to an hour north or west.
Old 06-22-2014, 02:05 AM

Default Elk